Skip to main content

World Mythology (HUM 115-602) Raines: Home

A libguide to aid students writing research papers for World Mythology (HUM115-602).

Welcome!

Welcome to the World Mythology (HUM 115-602) libguide.  The aim of this libguide is to help students research and develop a strong research paper that incorporates mythic elements that you will come to know. The Following are descriptions of each page you will find in this libguide:

  •   Explore World Mythologies tab, students will find book materials, separated by culture, that are available within the FRCC/Poudre Public library collections. Each book entry should include the call number for the book, as well as a link to view that item in the catalog at Poudrelibraries.org. 
  • Database and Internet Links tab provides access to the Gale Virtual Reference Library Religion/Philosophy database. This database contains hundreds of entries on world mythologies, and can be useful for understanding major themes, stories, and concepts of world mythologies. Also, links to Open Electronic Resources (OER) such as textbooks and other educational material pertaining to world mythologies can be found on this tab.  A link to the Prospector catalog is also available in this tab. 
  •  Research Paper Ideas tab aims to highlight major mythic themes and elements that exist in each culture covered in the syllabus, and I have attempted to provide first person narrative research paper topics for each mythology.
  •  Class Information tab provides the class syllabus, the research paper rubric, some tips and hints for writing your paper, and a brief example of a first person narrative focusing on a mythic element .
  • Citation Help tab provides information on what citations are, why they are important, and links to citation machines that can help you correctly cite the materials you use for your research paper. Feel free to email me with questions, or suggestions for additional materials to add to this libguide. Good luck, and may the gods and goddess be in your favor!

DISCLAIMER: You may not find a book or article that addresses your research exactly, but by using books that examine other aspects of a culture (e.g. art, literature, music, architecture) you may be able to extrapolate information and gain a deeper understanding of how a mythic element is viewed within a culture. Explore the library catalog,and come to the Harmony library for research help.