Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation Guide (APA 7th Edition): Scholarly Journal Articles

This guide will help you cite your sources properly using APA 6th edition

What is a scholarly Resource?

What does "Peer Reviewed" mean?

Your instructor may ask that you cite scholarly peer-reviewed articles in your paper but what exactly does "peer-reviewed" mean?

Think of the peer-review process as a means of quality control. To ensure that an article is original, contributes something meaningful to the discipline, and that it includes valid data and information, the article is read and reviewed by experts in that discipline or field. Sometimes the identity of the author is masked so that the process is as free from bias as possible. The reviewers may then suggest corrections or other scholarly input into the editorial decision but the decision to ultimately publish an article rests solely on the journal's editor. The time it takes from article submission to final decision to publish it in a journal may vary depending on how complex the research is or how many reviewers are assigned to evaluate the article. Generally, it takes about 2-3 months for a decision to be made. 

An article can be rejected for several reasons including: 

  • The work is seen as falling outside of the coverage domain of the journal
  • It contains such severe flaws of design, methodology, analysis, or interpretations that the editor questions the validity of the submission
  • It is judged as making a limited contribution to the field
  • Sometimes an article is rejected with an invitation to revise and resubmit

Selecting peer-reviewed articles to include in your paper ensures that you are citing quality research and lends validity to your arguments. For more information about the peer-review process, see pages 225-228 of your APA Manual. 

Article in a Database - Three to Seven Authors

Author's Last Name, Initials, Author's Last Name, Initials, & Author's Last Name, Initials (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), p. or pp. page range. DOI or Retrieved from Publisher's URL. 

Works Cited List Example  

  Chitic, V., Rusu, A.S., & Szamoskozi, S. (2012). The effects of animal assisted therapy on communication and social skills: A meta-analysis. Transylvanian Journal of Psychology, 13(1), pp. 1-17. Retrieved from http://epsz.pszichologia.psiedu.ubbcluj.ro/

In-Text Citation Example

First Citation

(Authors last names separated by commas, date)

Example: (Chitic, Rusu, & Szamoskozi, 2012)

Subsequent Citations

(First listed author's last name et al., date)

Example: (Chitic et al., 2012)

Notes
  • List by last names and initials
  • Commas separate author's names, while the last author name is preceded by an ampersand (&)
  • Journal name and volume number are italicized. 
  • Subtitle: 1st word is capitalized.
  • Indent 2nd plus lines(5 spaces) and double space the citation.

A note about DOIs and URLs

When citing scholarly articles, it is necessary to include the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) for the article if you are provided with one. Typically, these can be found on the first page of the article itself or on the landing page of the article in the database (this is the page with all of the article's information such as authors, journal name, abstract, etc.). Some articles do not have a DOI listed so, if you have checked both of these places and still cannot find the DOI, you will need to include the publisher's homepage URL in your citation. Ask your librarian for help as finding this information can sometimes be tricky. For more information about where to locate DOIs and URLs in our databases, please see the All About DOIs and URLs page of this guide. 

Article in a Database with a DOI (one author)

Author's Last Name, Initials (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), p. or pp. page range. doi: xxx.xxxx

Works Cited List Example  

 Bond, P. (2016). Addressing information literacy through student-centered learning. Education for Information, 32(1), pp. 3-9. doi: 10.3233/EFI-150961

In-Text Citation Example

 (Author's Last Name, year)

 Example: (Bond, 2016)

Notes
  • Journal name and volume number are italicized. 
  • Subtitle: 1st word is capitalized.
  • Indent 2nd plus lines(5 spaces) and double space the citation.

Article in Database with no DOI (two authors)

Author's Last Name, Initials & Author's Last Name, Initials (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), p. or pp. page range. Retrieved from publisher's homepage URL

Works Cited List Example  

 Wall, M. & Duffy, A. (2010). The effects of music therapy for older people with dementia. British Journal of Nursing, 19(2), pp. 108-113. Retrieved from http://markallengroup.com/ma-healthcare/

In-Text Citation Example

 (Author's Last Name & Author's Last Name, year)

 Example: (Wall & Duffy, 2010)

Notes
  • Journal name and volume number are italicized. 
  • Subtitle: 1st word is capitalized.
  • Indent 2nd plus lines(5 spaces) and double space the citation.

Article in a Database - More Than Seven Authors

Last Name, First Initial, Last Name, First Initial, *Repeat for all authors with an ellipses after the sixth author's name then add the final author's name* (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), p. or pp. page range. DOI or Publisher's homepage URL 

Works Cited List Example  

  Graves, M.C., Harris, J.R., Hannon, P.A., Hammerback, K., Parrish, A.T., Ahmed, F...Allen, C.L. (2016). Promoting influenza vaccination to restaurant employees. American Journal of Health Promotion, 30(7), pp. 498-500. doi: 10.4278/ajhp.131216-ARB-643  

In-Text Citation Example

(First listed author's last name et al., date)

Example: (Graves et al., 2016)

Notes
  • List by last names and initials
  • Commas separate author names
  • After the sixth author's name, use an ellipses in place of any other author names. Then provide the final author's name.
  • There should be no more than seven names listed in your citation regardless of how many authors contributed to the publication
  • Journal name and volume number are italicized. 
  • Indent 2nd plus lines(5 spaces) and double space the citation.