Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World History To 1500: Islam to the Mamluks

World History

Assignments for Islam to Mamluks




Questions to Consider for Class Discussion:


Library Research

Limit your search to materials in Harmony Library only on Islam or Mamluks

Films on Demand

What the history of Moors shows is that the Christian and Muslim cultures were linked. The West has been inspired by Islam, and Europe's identity solidified while it fought the Muslims.

Pillars of Wisdom

Five Pillars of Islam

1. Declaration of Faith (Shahada)

"There is no god but God [Allah] and Muhammad is the messenger of God."

- affirms Islam's absolute belief in the unity of God
- asserts that Muhammad is both prophet and messenger of God recieving the last, final revelation begun with Adam
- emphasizes practice and action outlined in the remaining Pillars

2. Prayer (Salat)

- facing the holy city of Mecca 5 times a day
- keeps believers mindful of their total dependence on God framing worldly concerns around death, judgment, and afterlife
- recitations from the Quran and accompanying movements express submission, humility, and adoration of God

3. Purification (Zakat)

- shows thanksgiving to God by supporting the poor 
- annual contribution of 2.5% of one's wealth and assets
- wealth as a trust from God, so zakat is not "charity" but an obligation to the needs of the community

4. Fast of Ramadan

- abstaining dawn to sunset from food, drink, and sexual activity for a month every year
- reflecting on dependence upon God, spiritual goals and values, and the less fortunate
- ending with Eid al-Fitr feast of joyfulness, special celebrations, and gift giving

5. Pilgrimage (Haij)

- to Mecca in Saudi Arabia 
- at least once if physically and financially able
- as a pilgrim totally at God's service